top of page

Put on your dancing shoes!

I found myself staring at my computer screen thinking ‘oh crap’ what did I just agree to? Like many people glued to continuous YouTube videos of random activities that they would one day love to do; I found myself imagining what it would be like to actually participate in one that I had thought about for years. Taking it one step further I actually booked in for dance lessons in cha cha after seeing an incredible video of professional Latin dancers and proceeded to turn up to the lesson absolutely bricking it! It turned out that I had no idea what I had let myself in for and little did I understand about the many variations of dance that were out there.

So in my doc martins and with my two left feet I stood nervously in the back of the local dance studio. Hoping that no one would notice me quietly observing as everyone took to the dance floor for the start of the lesson. The plan was not at all successful. I was immediately pulled to the front and thrown into a mix of extraordinary people who welcomed me into their dancing family. Little did I know that the future father of our child would be the one launching me forward from my hiding spot at the back of the class. From that point onwards I found myself on the dance floor every night of that week and at least 2 to 3 times a week every week for the next 2 years. By the end of my second week dancing I had acquired the appropriate footwear and discovered rueda, bachata, kizomba, salsa and cha cha. This was also accompanied by the regularly asked questions of which dance is your favourite or best dance and one of the biggest ongoing debates among dancers that surrounds the intimacy of kizomba. Personally I loved every opportunity to be on the dance floor no matter the type of dance as it was a thrilling outlet of energy and an incredible way to meet so many amazing, different people from all walks of life. They all became a dance family who support and care for each other through the medium of dance and our amazing teachers Carl and Alex at Dancing Fever.  

bottom of page