top of page

EXPECTANCY

Anticipation was oozing out of me and I was the happiest I had been in years. Interviews were going well; though I had yet to officially land a position; they were all very positive and close calls. My relationship with my partner was incredible and I was healthier than I had been since I’d been in school (Which between us is quite a while now). With some money set aside and some time to enjoy between interviews and preparation for them, we decided to go all out and we were living every day to the maximum together. If we weren’t out dancing at conventions like the one that brought us together 

( SHOUT OUT TO MAMBO CITY DANCE CONGRESS! ), then we were out enjoying our love of rock concerts and alcohol. It was an incredible time of Stereophonics , Manic Street Preachers and for the grand finale Iron Maiden ( The incredible headliner act at the Download festival of 2016 ). 

To this day that was the best venue and concert we’ve attended so far! We were trying new and exciting activities and partying like were 18 again! Which we really aren’t. Our love of music expanded at the download festival, here are a few of our favourites below:

Twin Atlantic Billy Talent Skindred Korn Iron maiden were without a doubt the most incredible way to finish the long run of partying as they were so enthusiastic, entertaining and energetic on stage! Absolutely marvellous! I would highly recommend though wellies to attend this event in future though as I was underprepared with just my Dr Martens at the time which after that weekend had to be abandoned as they were completely wrecked. Mostly due to the mosh pits, mud and the porta-loos they had been through. We were all rocked out and started to unwind again with some more dancing when we discovered that in amongst all the fun and partying I had missed my T.O.M. Needless to say it is never the right time, if you try or not to conceive but after a very serious and compassionate discussion with my partner I took a pregnancy test. Simply walking into the shop to purchase the tests I felt all eyes on me, judging in all manor of ways. Thoughts racing through my mind. From what is she doing looking all shifty through to oh my gosh she is on her own buying it, where is the dad? It was the most anxious I had ever been up to that point in time.

The biggest confusion at the time was the display of different types of tests, which one to I get? It was a minefield and I hadn’t done my research because I was so eager to get one and find out. I bought a few types and more than one to double check because I didn’t know what I was doing or if I’d mess it up some how. How can you mess peeing on a stick up though you may ask and honestly I have no answer to that one but it ran through my mind anyway. After about 5 minutes standing around avoiding eye contact with everyone in the store (despite no one actually paying me any attention whatsoever in reality) I finally settled on the well known name brand (and it can sometimes be very expensive) Clearblue . The brand themselves had a variety to choose from so I walked as fast as I could up to the self service check-out with the pregnancy combo packs. I had never been so excited or scared to go to the toilet before!  

bottom of page